SVQ Fabrication and Welding Engineering SCQF Level 6

Engineering and manufacturing

The SVQ Fabrication and Welding Engineering at SCQF Level 6 is gained when all the necessary assessment routes have been achieved.  The Centre will then be able to apply for the learner’s certificate of achievement.  The learner will also receive a certificate of unit credit, listing all the assessment routes they have achieved.

To achieve the SVQ Fabrication and Welding Engineering at SCQF Level 6 qualification candidates are required to obtain the three mandatory units and one of the six Pathways.

If the learner does not complete the full qualification, they can still claim a certificate of unit credit for the assessment routes achieved.  This will mean they will have proof of their ability and could complete the qualification at a later date. 

Assessment routes can also be taken individually (stand-alone units).  This manual must be used in conjunction with the delivery and assessment of any individual assessment routes to ensure that assessment requirements and methodologies are consistently applied.

SVQ qualifications are subject to the 10 week rule. This means that there must be a minimum 10 week period between registration and certification.

No pre-requisites.

minimum credit of 102 and a maximum credit of 293

The Learner Guide explains to the learner how they will be assessed, and also gives ideas for evidence.

Sufficient training must be carried out prior to the commencement of the formal competency assessment process: evidence must be available to show that the relevant training has been carried out prior to the assessment of the performance and skills criteria. The evidence that training has been completed to a sufficient level must be signed and dated by both the trainer and learner.  Failure to provide evidence that sufficient training has taken place will result in the delay or failure in the certification of this qualification or individual units.
Evidence of competence must be assessed against the requirements of the relevant National Occupational Standards. 

The qualification structure may require learners to complete common mandatory units, followed by a choice of pathways. Learners may then be required to complete further mandatory units within their chosen pathway, followed by a number of optional units from a provided selection. The range of optional units allows for any variations in the occupation in different organisations and across the sector as identified through consultation with industry.

The number of mandatory and optional units required to achieve this qualification, and the available pathways, is defined in the specific qualification structure. This outlines the minimum number of units that must be taken, but additional units can be taken to suit the requirements of particular organisations.

At the recognised EAL centre.