The new standard for Technical Education

We're delighted to announce that we have been awarded the contract to be the delivery partner for the second wave of the T Levels in Construction by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IFATE) and the Department for Education (DfE).

In collaboration with City & Guilds, we will be offering the Technical Qualification (TQ) for T Levels in Construction: Building Services Engineering and On Site Construction starting from September 2021.

T Levels are a new route for learners to develop their skills in technical industries, and we are proud to be part of this movement to help kick start the skills revolution our economy needs.
City & Guilds and EAL bring together the strength of two market-leading awarding bodies in qualifications and skills development in the construction and built environment sector. Our aims during the development and implementation of this new suite of qualifications are to help people prepare for the world of work, develop in their job and progress on to their next job.

City & Guilds is a global leader in skills development, providing services to training providers, employers, and trainees across a variety of sectors to meet the needs of today's workplace.

EAL is the leading specialist skills partner and awarding organisation for the engineering and advanced manufacturing industry. Committed to investing in the industries they serve and the careers of the people working within them.

What are T Levels?

T Levels are a new level 3 qualification, each equivalent to 3 A Levels, designed to offer a path for learners wishing to enter skilled professions. T Level courses will last 2 years, following on from GCSEs, and are aimed primarily at 16-18 learners.

The courses have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses to make sure they meet the needs of the industry and prepare learners for the workplace.

They will consist of a mixture of classroom learning and on-the-job experience, including an industry placement of at least 45 days. Over the course, learners will develop the skills and experience they need to enter skilled employment or further technical study.

T Levels will be gradually rolled out over the next few years. By 2023, there will be T Levels available for the following industries:

  • agriculture, environment and animal care
  • business and administration
  • catering and hospitality
  • childcare and education
  • construction
  • creative and design
  • digital
  • engineering and manufacturing
  • hair and beauty
  • health and science
  • legal, finance and accounting

To read more about our collaboration with City & Guilds click here

If you can't find the answer you are looking for contact our Customer Experience team on 01923 652400 or email [email protected].